Skip to main content
LimbAtlas home

Search providers, surgeons, facilities, countries, cities, techniques, devices and guides. Results are ordered by how closely they match what you type — never by provider quality or sponsorship.

Or browse

My Research
Evidence & verification

How LimbAtlas verifies provider information

What the sources, review dates, verification labels and 'Not publicly stated' mean on a LimbAtlas profile — what they do not mean — and how verification differs from sponsorship.

By LimbAtlas editorial team

Reading time
4 min
Sources
1
Last reviewed
Published

Key points

  • Profiles are built from primary sources, mainly providers' own official websites, and show the date each source was checked.
  • Verification describes how far LimbAtlas could confirm a profile's details from those sources; it is not a medical endorsement or a quality rating.
  • Treatment, device and support facts are marked current, uncertain or historical, and only current facts are shown as what a provider offers today.
  • Sponsorship is a paid label, recorded separately from verification, and neither affects directory order.

What a profile is built from

Every published profile cites at least one primary source: the provider's own official website, an official hospital website, a government registry, a medical publication, a device manufacturer's documentation for device facts, or an official social account linked from the provider's website. Third-party directories and aggregators can point LimbAtlas to a provider worth researching, but are never used as the evidence for a fact.

Each source on a profile carries the date it was last checked, and the profile carries the date it was last reviewed as a whole. Treatment links and care and support facts also record when they were reviewed. The Sources & review history section of every profile lists which source supports which facts.

Why public information has limits

Providers publish very different amounts of detail. In a 2025 study, researchers posing as a prospective patient contacted 27 orthopaedic practices offering elective stature lengthening; only 3 answered all of their scripted questions, and information about eligibility and potential complications was frequently missing. A profile can only be as complete as the sources behind it, which is why LimbAtlas shows gaps rather than filling them.

Verification labels

Verification describes how much of a profile LimbAtlas has been able to confirm against primary sources. It says nothing about the quality, safety or outcomes of a provider's care, and is never a recommendation. The verification methodology sets out the full rules.

Verification states on a profile
  • Label: Verified

    Meaning
    The profile's core information is substantiated by current public primary or authoritative sources
  • Label: Partially verified

    Meaning
    Some important information is supported, while other areas remain incomplete, uncertain or not publicly stated
  • Label: Unverified

    Meaning
    Not enough current public evidence has been found yet, or the profile has not been reviewed

Current, uncertain and historical facts

Techniques, devices, facilities and support services are each recorded with a status. A fact is current when the provider's current official material presents it as offered and no newer official source contradicts it. It is uncertain when current availability cannot be substantiated — the evidence is old, indirect or contradictory — and historical when the provider describes it as past practice or newer material has replaced it.

No single date decides the status. Explicit statements that something is offered or discontinued, page dates, newer contradictory sources, whether it is still actively presented, and whether the only evidence is an old case report, patient story or archived page are all weighed. Older or conflicting evidence receives additional scrutiny; recent evidence is not automatically treated as current.

Only current facts are shown as how a provider works today, counted on method and device pages, or matched by filters. Uncertain items are named on the profile as not confirmed; historical ones stay in the data for the review trail. LimbAtlas never upgrades an uncertain or historical fact to current by inference.

'Not publicly stated' is not a no

Many facts — whether rehabilitation or accommodation is offered, whether patients operated on elsewhere are accepted — are often simply absent from a provider's materials. Where the reviewed sources do not address a point, the profile shows 'Not publicly stated'. That means only that the sources do not say; it is never treated as a no.

Directory filters such as 'Rehabilitation available' match only an explicit yes. A provider shown as not publicly stated is left out of the filtered list without being marked as not offering the service.

A public listing is not confirmed availability

A current fact records what a provider publicly states at the date shown. It does not confirm that the provider would treat you, that a particular device or service is available on a given date, or anything about suitability for your case. Providers change what they offer, and the provider's own team is the only source that can confirm it.

LimbAtlas does not contact providers on your behalf or collect enquiries. Each profile links to the provider's own official website.

Verification and sponsorship are separate

A Sponsored label marks a paid placement. Sponsorship and verification are recorded independently: a sponsored provider is not treated as verified, and an unverified provider is not treated as less eligible for sponsorship. The two always appear as separate labels, never as one score.

Neither label affects the default directory order, and LimbAtlas publishes no quality ranking. How we rank describes the ordering, and the advertising disclosure explains what sponsorship does and does not mean.

Terminology

Primary source
An official source for a fact: the provider's or hospital's own website, a registry, a publication or a manufacturer's documentation.
Verified
The profile's core information is substantiated by current public sources. Not a quality rating or a medical endorsement.
Current
Presented as offered on the provider's current official material, with no newer official source contradicting it.
Uncertain
Supported only by older, indirect or contradictory evidence; shown as not confirmed.
Not publicly stated
The reviewed sources do not address the point. Neither a yes nor a no.
Sponsored
A paid placement, always labelled and kept separate from verification.

Sources

  1. 1.
    Information Transparency for Elective Stature Lengthening Surgery: A Secret Shopper Study (external site, opens in a new tab)

    Strategies in Trauma and Limb Reconstructiondoi.orgPublished Accessed

    Shenoy DA, Santamaria G, Gomez-Alvarado F, Sabharwal S. 2025;20(1):31–36.

About this guide

Status
Published — checked against the sources listed; not clinically reviewed
Written by
LimbAtlas editorial team
Published
Last reviewed against sources

LimbAtlas provides educational information and does not replace advice from a qualified medical professional. This guide does not recommend a specific provider or method; discuss any medical decision with a clinician who can assess your individual situation.

How guides are written and maintained: editorial policy · medical disclaimer

  • Researching providers

    How to research a limb lengthening provider

    A framework for comparing providers on the same structural facts — who they are, where surgery and rehabilitation take place, what is publicly stated and how current it is — before you contact anyone.

    7 min readReviewed

  • Methods & devices

    Understanding limb lengthening devices

    How a named device such as PRECICE, FITBONE or the Taylor Spatial Frame differs from a device type and from a treatment technique — and how to read the device information on a LimbAtlas profile.

    4 min readReviewed

  • Researching providers

    Questions to ask a provider

    A checklist of questions to put to every provider on a shortlist — surgical team, method, rehabilitation, follow-up, complications, travel, costs and medical records — drawn from published patient guidance.

    6 min readReviewed

Continue your research

Compare providers structurally by organisation type, care model, treatment method and rehabilitation and accommodation support.

Compare a shortlist side by side

Explore the provider directory